8824 NE Russell St.
Portland OR 97220

Black Lamb


Now in its 14th year of publication, this magazine was created to offer the discerning reader a stimulating selection of excellent original writing. Black Lamb Review is a literate rather than a literary publication. Regular columns by writers in a variety of geographic locations and vocations are supplemented by features, reviews, articles on books and authors, and a selection of “departments,” including an acerbic advice column and a lamb recipe.


Black Lamb welcomes submissions from new writers. Email us.


If you have questions or comments regarding Black Lamb, please email us.

A Week in Literary History

August 28th, 2002

In 1913, Canadian playwright and novelist Robertson Davies (Fifth Business, 1970) is born William Robertson Davies in Thamesville, Ontario.

Robertson Davies, b. August 28, 1913, d. 1995

robertsondavies.jpgA Canadian treasure, Robertson Davies was a prolific playwright (he wrote eleven), critic (fifteen books, including an invaluable biography of fellow Canadian Stephen Leacock), and novelist (three trilogies plus one left incomplete at his death), as well as a professor and journalist. He received every honor Canada could bestow. Start with the Deptford Trilogy (the first book, Fifth Business, is a masterpiece) and discover an erudite, funny, and humane writer.

Suggested Reading Novels The Salterton Trilogy Tempest-Tost, 1951. Leaven of Malice, 1954. A Mixture of Frailties, 1958. The Deptford Trilogy Fifth Business, 1970. The Manticore, 1972. World of Wonders, 1975. The Cornish Trilogy The Rebel Angels, 1981. What’s Bred in the Bone, 1985. The Lyre of Orpheus, 1988.

Posted by: The Editors
Category: A Week in Literary History, Books and Authors | Link to this Entry


  • Blogroll