8824 NE Russell St.
Portland OR 97220

Black Lamb


Now in its 14th year of publication, this magazine was created to offer the discerning reader a stimulating selection of excellent original writing. Black Lamb Review is a literate rather than a literary publication. Regular columns by writers in a variety of geographic locations and vocations are supplemented by features, reviews, articles on books and authors, and a selection of “departments,” including an acerbic advice column and a lamb recipe.


Black Lamb welcomes submissions from new writers. Email us.


If you have questions or comments regarding Black Lamb, please email us.

A Week in Literary History

September 25th, 2002

American novelist William Faulkner (As I Lay Dying, 1930) is born William Falkner in New Albany, Miss., 1897.

William Faulkner, b. September 25, 1897, d. 1962

faulkner.jpgIn one short burst during his early thirties Faulkner wrote the beginnings of six superb novels; then he finished them and went on to a thirty-year career of uniformly high quality. By the end of his life, as the most original and substantial American novelist of the twentieth century, winner of the Nobel and every other honor, he finally had the satisfaction of seeing his works widely published and praised.

Suggested Reading Novels Soldier’s Pay, 1926. Mosquitoes, 1927. Sartoris, 1929. The Sound and the Fury, 1929. As I Lay Dying, 1930. Sanctuary, 1931. Light in August, 1932. Pylon, 1935. Absalom, Absalom! 1936. The Wild Palms, 1939. The Hamlet, 1940. Go Down, Moses, 1942. Intruder in the Dust, 1948. Requiem for a Nun, 1951. A Fable, 1954. The Town, 1957. Short stories These Thirteen, 1931. Doctor Marino and Other Stories, 1934. The Unvanquished: Sartoris Stories, 1938. Knight’s Gambit, 1949. Collected Short Stories of William Faulkner, 1950.

Posted by: The Editors
Category: A Week in Literary History, Books and Authors | Link to this Entry


  • Blogroll